The Vampire Diaries: 5 Character Recap From Start to Finish

If you’re anything like myself, you’re having a hard time saying goodbye to The Vampire Diaries. As the end draws near, and in effort to stay sane, I’m reflecting on Mystic Falls personalities beginning with season 1 and ending with season 8.

Embed from Getty Images

Dear Diary: I made it through the day. I must have said, “I’m fine, thanks” at least 37 times, and I didn’t mean it once.

Those are the wise words of a courageous girl named Elena Gilbert— and oh! how relatable they’ve been to me since the announcement of season 8 being TVD’s last!

You know the bitter sweet feeling, the one where Damon places that perfectly devious grin we’ve gotten to know so well on his face, yet he’s about to tear someone’s very own beating heart out of their chest at the same time? That’s the constant state of feeling I’ve been stuck in. With one hand, I’m holding on to TVD for dear life, but with the other, I’m graciously awaiting the finale. I know the end is soon and I can’t wait to see just how beautiful and epic of an ending our TVD family will give us.

I’ve been trying to avoid spoilers, so instead I want to talk character growth from start to finish. Let’s get to it:

1. Matt Donovan

Matt has grown into quite the protector. Evolving from a lost boy with (no) family to someone who deeply cares for his town and the well-being of the human population in Mystic Falls. He will do whatever it takes, even if it means sacrificing his life along the way to protect them. He feels it is his duty to stand up and protect his people, as he remained faithful to his kind all along. His bitter feelings toward vampires takes a toll on even his closest friendships and in the final seasons you can really feel his pain, suffering and feelings for retribution.

2. Damon Salvatore

Let’s face it, Damon is as selfish as he is confident. He risks everything for his one love throughout the entire series, but in this final season you can begin to tell that it’s not only about the love of that one girl, but also about the love of his brother. As a character, he develops into the hero, rather than the great villain he was always portrayed to be.

3. Caroline Forbes

Caroline Forbes seems to have evolved the most as a character. She’s grown from this “shallow as a kiddie pool” teenager to the glue that holds the crew together. She’s no longer worried about throwing the best party but rather fighting for it all to keep everyone happy—even if that means she will not get her own happy ending, or a June wedding.

4. Bonnie Bennett

Bon-Bon has for once tried to put her happiness above others. However, being the kind of person she is, it’s not that simple. From the get-go, Bonnie has been the one to put her own life on the line time and again to save Elena from the very start, even if it meant she had to die. In fact, she had sacrificed herself many times before. This holds true to her character until the very end, because in losing herself, or the one she loves, she suffers all the same.

5. Stefan Salvatore

I guess it’s safe to say that along the ride, Stefan has misplaced his “Hero Hair.” Stefan has gone from the timid, unsure of himself as a vampire type of character to remorseful ripper many times throughout the series. I’m unsure, as I’m certain we all are, of his defining character moments in these final few episodes—but I’m sure his hero hair is in there somewhere.

I’m super excited to see tonight’s episode, “The Lies Are Going to Catch Up with You.” Do you agree or disagree with my thoughts on the Mystic Falls gang? Do you have any idea of what’s to come next? Let me know! I’d love to chat about it. Fangs for reading.

Leave a Reply

